LibGuides: EndNote 20 for Mac: Adding records

Adding records to EndNote

Exporting references from databases

Using the direct export function in a database saves time because relevant information is automatically populated into the reference fields in your library.

There are four basic steps to export references:

1. Run a search in a database

2. Select (or mark) the reference/s you want to add to your library

3. Select the export, download or save records option in the database and choose the appropriate EndNote option. You may also be able to specify the content you want included (e.g., citation, abstract, reference list, etc.)

4. Click on the downloaded file and the reference will be automatically added to your library. Check that it is formatted correctly by selecting the style in the drop-down menu and checking it in the Summary tab on the side panel.

Exporting records from Library Catalogue

1. Enter your search terms in the search window on the Library's home page.

2. When you find a resource you want to include in your EndNote library, click the download as shown below:

3. Click the EndNote format (.txt) option.

4. Click the ok button and save the file.

5. Go to EndNote library, File- Import. Choose the .txt file and select import option- EndNote import & click import. The reference will automatically be added to your EndNote desktop library.

Always check your reference to ensure it is accurate, and make corrections as needed.

Records are entered manually when they are unavailable from databases.

To enter a record:

1. Select the New Reference icon.

EndNote reference management software, Clarivate Analytics, Version 20, 2020

2. Select an appropriate reference type. The reference type determines the fields available for data entry.

EndNote reference management software, Clarivate Analytics, Version 20, 2020

3. Enter information in the fields required for your referencing style. Fields not required can be left blank.

4. Save and close the reference by clicking the red button on the top.

5. Preview the record by selecting the appropriate style and clicking the Up arrow (circled in red). Make sure you are in the Summary for this reference, instead of Edit.

EndNote reference management software, Clarivate Analytics, Version 20, 2020

Author names

Authors can be entered either first-and-middle name and then last (family) name (e.g., John Robert Smith); or they can be entered last name, comma, first-and-middle name (e.g., Smith, John Robert)
Corporate authors (e.g., organisations) are entered with a comma at the end of the name (e.g., World Health Organization,). If the organisation's name has a comma in it, you must put a double comma at the end of the name (e.g., Department of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations,,)
Each author must be on a separate line

EndNote data entry

EndNote reference management software, Clarivate Analytics, Version X9, 2018

Year

Enter a four digit year of publication (e.g., 2015)
You can also enter text such as "in press' or "unpublished"

Titles

Enter journal names in full - do not use abbreviations
Do not add full stops or other punctuation at the end of titles
Use capitalisation required by the bibliographic style.

Place Published

Enter the place the item was published, e.g., New York:

Pages

Page numbering can be entered as a full range (e.g., 1165-1169) or truncated (e.g., 1165-9). EndNote will format the numbering according to the bibliographic style

The following table contains a list of the minimum fields required for displaying a complete reference in most styles, but you must check with your own style requirements.

Book	Author, Year, Title, Publisher, City, Edition (if not the first)
Journal article	Author, Year, Title, Journal Title, Volume, Issue, Pages, DOI (if applicable)
Electronic article	Author, Year, Title, Journal Title, Volume, Issue, Pages, DOI (if applicable), Date accessed, URL (or Database name)
Electronic book	Author, Year, Title, Publisher, Date accessed, URL (or Database name)
Web page	Author (or site producer), Year (of publication or last update), Title (of site), Date accessed, URL