Skip to Main Content

EndNote 25 for Mac

Adding References from Databases

To import individual references to EndNote

Find your required book or article using our Primo search platform

Open your book or article by clicking on its title

Under send, click EXPORT RIS-ENDNOTE and click Download

The file will appear on the top right-hand side of your screen

Click on the downloaded file, and it will automatically open up in your EndNote Library

Chat with a Librarian

Start Chat

To import individual references to EndNote

  • Find CINAHL on the A-Z Resources and connect to the database
  • Enter a search (e.g., Asthma Patients) to find articles 

  • When the results are listed, check the box in front of the papers that you want. (Right-hand side of the paper)

  • Then add another citation by clicking on the box

  • Then click on the folder at the top, where all the references are added.

  • Click on Export 
  • Click EndNote Desktop

  • Check that the correct number of results is selected
  • Click Export

  • The file will appear on the top right-hand side of your screen
  • Click on the downloaded file, and it will automatically open up in your EndNote Library

To import individual references to EndNote

  • Find PubMed on the A-Z Resources and connect to the database
  • Enter a search (e.g. Asthma) to find articles 

  • When the results are listed, check the box beside the papers that you want. (left-hand side of the paper)
  • Click Save (above the search results)
  • Click Citation Manager 
  • Click Create file

  • The file will appear on the top right-hand side of your screen
  • Click on the downloaded file, and it will automatically open up in your EndNote Library

To import individual references to EndNote

  • Find Scopus on the A-Z Resources and connect to the database
  • Enter a search (e.g. Asthma Control) to find articles 

  • When the results are listed, check the box beside the papers that you want. (left-hand side of the paper) and click on Export 

  • Ensure that the RIS Format has been selected, click Export

  • Click Download
  • The file will appear on the top right-hand side of your screen

  • Click on the downloaded file, and it will automatically open up in your EndNote Library

To import individual references to EndNote

  • Find Web of Science on the A-Z Resources and connect to the database
  • Enter a search (e.g., Asthma Patients) to find articles 

  • When the results are listed, check the box beside the papers that you want. (left-hand side of the paper) and click on Export

  • Click EndNote Desktop
  • Check that the correct number of results are selected

  • Click Export
  • The file will appear in the bottom left-hand side of your screen
  • Click on the downloaded file, and it will automatically open up in your EndNote Library

To import all references to EndNote (you can only import 5,000 at a time)

  • Find Web of Science on the A-Z Resources and connect to the database
  • Enter a search (e.g, Asthma patients) to find articles 
  • When the results are listed, check the box beside the papers that you want. (left-hand side of the paper)
  • Click on Export 
  • Click Fast 5k

  • You will need to sign in to your Web of Science account (or register for an account)

  • Change the File Format to Tab-delimited (Mac)
  • Click Export

  • The file will appear on the top left-hand side of your screen
  • Click on the downloaded file, and it will automatically open up in your EndNote Library

To import individual references to EndNote

  • Find Cochrane on the A-Z Resources and connect to the database
  • Enter a search (e.g., Asthma Patients) to find articles 
  • When the results are listed, check the box beside the papers that you want. (left-hand side of the paper)

  • Click on Export 
  • Click EndNote Desktop
  • Check that the correct number of results is selected
  • Click Export

  • The file will appear on the top right-hand side of your screen

  • Click on the downloaded file, and it will automatically open up in your EndNote Library

Adding References from Google Scholar

  • Open Google Scholar and enter a search (e.g., the Asthma Control)
  • On the left side of your screen, click the three horizontal bars next to the Google Scholar logo. Then click Settings.
  • Scroll down to the Bibliography manager section. Select the Show links to import citations into radio button. Choose EndNote from the dropdown menu. Click Save. You will not need to perform this step on subsequent visits to Google Scholar.
  • Search Google Scholar. Click the Import into EndNote link under the citation you wish to import to your EndNote library. The citation will download as a .enw file.
  • Exporting Multiple Citations

    Note: You cannot download more than 20 citations at a time in Google Scholar. If you anticipate downloading many citations, try using the library's databases first.

    1. Click on the small star below each citation you want to export. This will add the citation to the My Library folder. 

    2. When you are done adding the citations you want to export, click on My Library at the top right of your screen. 

    3. Check the boxes next to all the citations you want to export or the "select all" box at the top. Then click the Download icon and select EndNote from the drop-down menu. This will download an .enw file containing your citations. 

    3. Import the.ENW file to EndNote using either Method #1 or Method #2

  • Right-click on the file to Open With EndNote 25 
  • To import an. ENW file within your EndNote Library, select File > Import > and choose EndNote Import in the Import Options

Creating a Manual Reference

Records are entered manually when they are not available in databases.

To enter a record: 

1. Select the New Reference icon.

2. Select an appropriate reference type. The reference type determines the fields available for data entry.

3. Enter information in the fields required for your referencing style. Fields not required can be left blank.

4. Select Save and close the new reference window.

5. Preview the record by selecting the appropriate style and clicking the Up arrow (circled in red). Ensure you are in the Summary view for this reference, not the Edit view.

Adding References from Clinical Summaries

To add references from a Clinical Summary (DynaMed or UpToDate) you will have to enter the references manually.

To do this:

  • Select New Reference from the References menu
  • The reference default type is set to Electronic Book Section.
  • Type the details into the relevant fields 
    • Enter the title (UpToDate), [updated date, cited date] in the same field, as in the example
 
  • Command + S or File and Save will save the reference
  • Close the reference
  • Check the preview to ensure it is displaying correctly and adjust as necessary

Importing PDFs into an EndNote Library

If you have a folder of references downloaded as PDFs, you can import the files into your EndNote Library. To do this:

  • EndNote 25 and Select File
  • Select Import and then File
  • Under Options, ensure the Import Option is set to PDF
  • Choose a PDF as the Import File and Select Import
  • The details of the reference, complete with the attached PDF, should appear in the Recently Added section of your EndNote Library

EndNote will attempt to source the full details of the reference by cross-referencing the reference's DOI (Digital Object Identifier) through multiple sources. However, if EndNote is unable to source the details of an article, you will need to insert the details manually or export the reference from a database and then attach the PDF to that reference.

© 2025 Libguides. Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland Medical University of Bahrain.