EndNote 25 for Mac

EndNote 2025: building ideas, one at a time

A reference manager to help you better discover, organize, manage, cite, write, and share.

The new EndNote 2025 features are available for all users and include:

• Key Takeaway — A new, generative AI-powered tool that expedites research discovery by extracting key insights and takeaways from individual papers.
• Find a Journal publishing tool — An enhanced machine learning tool available directly in Cite While You Write that allows researchers to find the best journal match using their paper.
• Cite from PDF — Quickly insert both a highlighted quote from a PDF and its corresponding citation into the document with a click of a button.
• Summary panel redesign — View a more modern, organized summary of record with configurable detail options.
• Web of Science citing articles and related records — Curate a more comprehensive reference library by viewing relevant articles and finding papers that have cited existing references.
• Find Reference Updates and Find Full-Text improvements — Easily access both the Find Reference Updates and Find Full-Text tools at the top of the record menu, creating a more streamlined user experience.

EndNote 25 now includes Key Takeaway, a generative AI tool that analyzes PDFs in your library and provides concise summaries of the main points. This feature helps you quickly grasp the essence of articles, thereby enhancing your research discovery process.

How to use AI-Powered Key Takeaway in EndNote 25:

1. Update to EndNote 25 (2025 version).

2. Attach a PDF (machine-readable/OCR preferred) to the reference.

3. Open the record in your library.

4. Click “AI Key Takeaway” (appears in the summary/details panel).

5. Read the summary – it auto-extracts main points from the PDF/abstract.

6. For best results → use clean, searchable PDFs.

The Find a Journal feature in EndNote 2025 utilizes advanced machine learning to help researchers identify the most suitable academic journals for their manuscripts. This tool analyzes key components of a paper to recommend relevant journals, helping streamline the submission process.

Note: This feature is available only within the Cite While You Write (CWYW) plugin for Google Docs and Microsoft Word Online with the EndNote 2025 activation. It is not supported in the desktop version of the Word CWYW plugin.

Follow these steps to use Find a Journal:

1. Access the Cite While You Write Plugin:

• In Word Online: Navigate to the References tab and click the EndNote icon.
• In Google Docs: Go to the Extensions menu > EndNote Cite While You Write > Open.

2. In the Cite While You Write panel, click the Main Menu icon (three horizontal lines to the left of My References).

Quickly insert both a highlighted quote from a PDF and its corresponding citation into the document with a click of a button.

• Open the reference’s PDF in EndNote (double-click the reference → PDF tab)

• Highlight the quote you want inside the built-in PDF viewer.

• Click Cite from PDF (the pop-up/bubble) to send the quote + formatted citation to your open Word doc at the cursor (CWYW must be active).

View a more modern, organized summary of the record with configurable detail options. 

• Click any reference and look to the right-hand Reference Panel
• Click the Summary tab to see the at-a-glance view. If the panel isn’t showing, double-click the reference to reopen it, or select the item and choose "References" from the menu.
• Reference Summary (you can also right-click the reference for the same option).

Curate a more comprehensive reference library by viewing relevant articles and finding papers that have cited existing references.

• Go to References → Web of Science → Citing Articles.

• Your browser opens the WoS results showing papers that cite your item; Export → EndNote Desktop to save any back to your library.

• References → Web of Science → Related Records.

• WoS shows papers that share references with your item; Export → EndNote Desktop to add selected results.

Easily access both the Find Reference Updates and Find Full-Text tools at the top of the record menu, creating a more streamlined user experience.

• Select the references.

• Right-click → Find Full Text (or References → Find Full Text → Find Full Text).

• Watch progress in the left pane; a paperclip icon means the PDF is attached.