LibGuides: Research Summer School Library Support: Welcome

Learn about how to search for literature, choose terms, frame strategies & different sources available.

Frame search strategies
The guide demonstrates literature search with examples
Primo Search Guide
Primo is the new discovery search at the RCSI Bahrain Library. It includes print, electronic, and digital resources. Primo is a one-stop location to search for books, articles, and more!
PubMed
Learn how to search and save searches in PubMed
MEDLINE
Access Medline from library portal
Health Research Premium
Access Health Research Premium from library portal
Science Direct
Access Science Direct from library portal
Scopus
Scopus is a bibliographic database
Web of Science
WoS is a bibliographic database

Learn how to do literature review

Covidence Covidence is a purpose – built tool designed to improve systematic reviews to help healthcare professionals and researchers draw on the best available evidence.
PRISMA PRISMA is an evidence-based minimum set of items for reporting in literature reviews, systematic reviews and meta-analyses.
Write a literature review
Learn how to write a literature review

Literature Review Matrix
This synthesis matrix in Excel can help you get a jumpstart on finding ways in which the literature differs and is the same.

Prospero An international database of prospectively registered systematic reviews in health and social care.

Resources for Health Statistics Information

Global Health Observatory The data portal of the World Health Organization. Navigate by country or by indicator.
CDC Data & Statistics
National Center for Health Statistics

Learn how to manage references and different referencing styles & tools

Harvard Referencing
Learn how to cite & reference literature in Harvard style
Vancouver Referencing
Learn how to cite & reference literature in Vancouver style
EndNote 20 for Mac
Manage References using EndNote
Mendeley

Resources for protocols for laboratory research methods

Cold Spring Harbor Protocols > 2670 protocols. Subjects covered include: antibodies, bioinformatics/genomics, cell biology, chromatography, computational biology, DNA delivery/gene transfer, electrophoresis, genetics, high through-put analysis, imaging/microscopy, immunology, laboratory organisms, molecular biology, neuroscience, plant biology, polymerase chain reaction (PCR), proteins and proteomics, RNA interference/RNAi/siRNA, stem cells, transgenic technology. From Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Press manual and courses. New protocols are solicited by editorial staff.
PLoS ONE: lab protocols
Springer Protocols/Nature Protocols/Nature Methods/Protocols Exchange > 60,000 protocols and methods in the life and biomedical science areas of biochemistry, biotechnology, genetics, immunology, informatics, infectious diseases, microbiology, molecular medicine, cell biology, neuroscience, cancer research, PCR, genomics, protein science, plant sciences, pharmacology, toxicology. Online versions of print series Methods in Molecular Biology and Methods in Molecular Medicine from Humana Press. Includes protocols on video.
Wiley-Blackwell Current Protocols > 17,000 searchable or browsable protocols in the areas of bioinformatics, cell biology, cytometry, human genetics, immunology, magnetic resonance imaging, microbiology, molecular biology, mouse biology, neuroscience, nucleic acid chemistry, pharmacology, protein science, stem cell biology, toxicology.
WHO IRIS: laboratory manuals