EndNote 25 for Windows

• From the Groups menu, select Create Group

• Give the group a name, e.g., Introduction, Literature Review
• Click Enter to save the group

• Highlight one or more references, select Command + Shift, and then select Add References to and select the name of the group you have just created.

Adding References to a Group

1. In the library window, select the references that you wish to move. 

2. You can then drag the references to the Group, or right-click Add References To from the list of options that appear.  Select the Group to which you wish to add your references.

3. The number of references in the selected Group will update, indicating that the new references have been added.

To manage the tags

• Select a reference. In the Reference panel, find the “Tags” field.
• Click into the field and type the desired tag. Press Enter to add the tag.

• Repeat the process to add multiple tags.
• In the Reference Panel, click on any reference in your library to view its details. You’ll see a field Manage Tags, where you can add, view, or edit tags for the selected reference.

• To edit a reference, double-click on it
• Edit the fields you wish to edit
• Ctrl + S or File and Save will save the changes

• To remove references from your EndNote library, drag and drop the selected reference to the Trash. You can permanently delete the references by right-clicking on the Trash group and selecting "Empty Trash."

Finding Full-Text

EndNote uses data stored in your references to search the Web for the corresponding full-text file as a PDF or URL.  Once found, the file is automatically downloaded and attached to the appropriate reference.

Connecting Find Full Text to the RCSI Library

NOTE: The Find Full-Text feature works best when your computer is connected to the campus network. To improve retrieval of full-text files when off-campus, do the following:

1. In your EndNote library, select Edit > Preferences from the menu bar. The EndNote Preferences dialog box will open.

2. In the left column, click on Find Full Text.

3. Check all four boxes for Web of Science, DOI, PubMed, and OpenURL.

4. Copy and paste the following text into the field called OpenURL Path: https://rcsibahrain.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/openurl/973RCSIB_INST/973RCSIB_INST:RCSIB

To Find Full Text

1. In your EndNote library, click on the reference(s) for which you would like to find full-text files. 
2. Click on the Find Full Text button  in the toolbar along the top OR select References > Find Full Text

1. A box will appear with EndNote's Find Full-Text copyright and usage notice. Click OK.
2. A search script will appear under "Find Full Text" in the Groups panel, located in the left column. This indicates the number of PDFs or URLs that EndNote was able to find.
3. Click on Found PDF or Found URL in the Groups panel in the left column to view the references for which full-text files were found.
4. The PDFs EndNote finds will be automatically downloaded and attached to the appropriate reference. EndNote finds more articles when you are on campus and fewer when you are off campus.

Manually Attach a PDF to a Reference

If the full text is not found using Find Full Text, you can manually attach the PDF to your references.  Some aggregator databases, such as ScienceDirect or EBSCO databases, including CINAHL and PsycINFO, provide a URL that directs you to the full text instead of offering a PDF.

Once you save the PDF file to your computer, you can attach it to the EndNote citation by selecting + Attach PDF in the PDF of the reference window.